Monday, 12 April 2010 09:21

State Special Agenda Named 2009 Law Enforcement Officer of the Year

Runners-up from Orange County Sheriff’s Office and Naples Police Department also honored

(TALLAHASSEE) - Special Agent (SA) Terry Corn of the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE), Tampa Bay Regional Operations Center, has been selected as the 2009 Florida Retail Federation Law Enforcement Officer of the Year (LEOY). SA Corn will receive $3,000 and an attractive custom-crafted medallion and plaque when he is honored at FRF's annual awards banquet on Tuesday, November 10, 2009, at the Renaissance Vinoy Resort in St. Petersburg, Florida. His name will be added to a plaque that lists each LEOY recipient since the program’s inception in 1974. SA Corn was nominated by FDLE Commissioner Gerald Bailey.

Two runners-up were selected from a field of outstanding nominees that represented various law enforcement entities from throughout the state. They will also be honored at the November 10th event. They are: Deputy Sheriff Antwan Daniels of the Orange County Sheriff’s Office, Orlando, and Master Officer Steve Walden of the Naples Police Department. Each will receive a memento from FRF designating the honor and a certificate of commendation for their outstanding work.

“The Florida Retail Federation is proud to continue its tradition of honoring Florida’s finest law enforcement professionals and, specifically, these three outstanding officers,” says Richard A. McAllister, FRF president and chief executive officer. “All of the nominees are very deserving and are a credit and inspiration to law officers and law-abiding citizens everywhere. Our selection committee’s task of choosing among our many distinguished nominees was not an easy one. We are extremely appreciative of all of the law enforcement agencies throughout the state who took time to nominate an officer. Each nominated officer will receive a certificate of commendation recognizing their nomination and outstanding work.”

Read 7038 times